European Sport Capital 2017 and a medical city

European Sport Capital 2017 and a medical city

For this 38th edition of the World Medical and Health Games, Marseille will be the venue for your sporting achievements. A first in the history of the Medigames!

Indeed, Marseille has won the title of “European Capital of Sport 2017” making it the ideal host for the 26 sports included in Medigames!

This challenge is mobilising the municipality and all the institutional partners, associations and sports clubs of the city to offer a varied programme for all audiences. With its 220 000 amateur and professional sports, its 1500 different sports clubs and its 1000 sports facilities, Marseille is a real stronghold of French sport.

This dynamic is evident in the sustained programmes for the modernisation of sports facilities and policies intended to promote access to sport for as many people as possible.

Being awarded this prestigious title for 2017 after the title of European Capital of Culture in 2013, is a clear signal for the development of sport and the dynamism of the economy of the Marseille area.

In Marseille, sport is a passion. Sport is more than ever a strong connection within the local population as it represents a means of identity and belonging, a melting pot of true values:

600 events a year, including big events such as Euro 2016, the America’s Cup, the Open 13 Tennis Championship, World Championship for Pétanque, the World Series 13, Marseille Cassis, Marseille Running, Bosses de Provence Cycling and DecaNation 2016.

From the beautiful bay of Marseille, where the regatta will take place, to the wooded massif of l’Etoile for the cross-country running and mountain biking, not forgetting the golf at La Salette, we have selected the best sports venues in city for you!

Marseille is also a city “that counts” on the European medical scene! A first-class hospital site with the University Hospitals of La Timone, Hôpital Nord, La Conception and Sainte Marguerite Hospital, Marseille brings together 3 centres of excellence with its three faculties: medicine, dentistry and pharmacy with nearly 13 000 students in training! Medical research also plays an important role in Marseille with 22 approved research teams in different areas such as infectious diseases, neuroscience, nutrition / vascular physiopathology, genetics, oncology / immunology, social sciences and humanities / public health, MRI / imaging, anthropology and biomechanics.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in our beautiful city to allow you to experience rewarding personal and professional moments, unforgettable from the sporting point of view!

Partners

  • Aix-Marseille Provence Métropole
  • Medecin franco
  • Région PACA
  • CG13
  • La Provence
  • Marseille 2017
  • Marseille
  • ACMF
  • Club Medici
  • Quotidien

Capitale Européenne du Sport 2017 et cité médicale

Capitale Européenne du Sport 2017 et cité médicale

Pour cette 38ème édition des Jeux mondiaux de la médecine et de la santé, MARSEILLE sera le théâtre de vos exploits sportifs. Une première dans l’histoire des Medigames !

En effet, Marseille a obtenu le titre de « Capitale européenne du sport 2017 » ce qui en fait l’hôte idéal pour accueillir les 26 disciplines des Medigames !

Ce challenge mobilise la municipalité et l’ensemble de ses partenaires institutionnels, les associations et les clubs sportifs de la ville, afin de proposer un programme riche et varié pour tous les publics. Avec ses 220 000 sportifs, qu’ils soient amateurs ou professionnels, ses 1 500 clubs toutes disciplines sportives confondues et ses 1 000 équipements sportifs, la cité phocéenne est une véritable place forte du sport français.

Cette dynamique s’inscrit dans le prolongement des programmes de modernisation des équipements sportifs et de la politique destinée à favoriser l’accès à la pratique sportive pour le plus grand nombre.

Obtenir ce titre prestigieux pour 2017, après celui de la Capitale européenne de la culture en 2013, représente un signal fort pour le développement du sport comme pour le dynamisme de l’économie du territoire marseillais.

A Marseille, le sport est une véritable passion. Moyen d’enracinement et d’identité, creuset de vraies valeurs, il reste plus que jamais un lien fort au sein de la population :

600 manifestations par an, dont de grands événements comme l’Euro 2016, la Coupe de l’America, l’Open 13 de tennis, le Mondial de pétanque, les World séries 13, Marseille Cassis, Running Marseille, les bosses de Provence en Cyclisme et le DécaNation 2016.

De la magnifique rade de Marseille, où se déroulera la régate, aux massif boisés de l’Etoile pour le cross-country et le VTT en passant par le golf de la Salette, nous avons retenu, pour vous, les meilleurs sites sportifs de la ville !

Marseille est également une ville « qui compte » dans le panorama médical européen ! Place hospitalière de premier ordre avec le CHU de la Timone, de l’Hôpital Nord, de La Conception et de l’Hôpital Sainte Marguerite, Marseille regroupe 3 pôles d’excellence avec ses 3 facultés : médecine, odontologie et pharmacie regroupant près de 13 000 étudiants en formation ! La recherche médicale joue également un rôle important dans la cité phocéenne avec 22 équipes de recherche labélisées dans différents domaines tels que les maladies infectieuses, les neurosciences, la nutrition/physiopathologie vasculaire, la génétique, l’oncologie/immunologie, les sciences humaines et sociales/santé publique, la résonance magnétique/imagerie, l’anthropologie, la biomécanique.

Nous vous attendons nombreux au sein de notre belle cité pour vous faire vivre des moments humainement et professionnellement enrichissants et sportivement inoubliables !

Partenaires

  • Région PACA
  • CG13
  • La Provence
  • Marseille 2017
  • Marseille
  • ACMF
  • Club Medici
  • Quotidien